A few support questions about design

First, of I love the theme Shapely, and that you provide a lot of themes for free. I just have a few questions about design issues that I am struggling with. I hope someone can assist me. I am an average WordPress designer all my plugins, theme etc. are updated to the latest versions.

1. Some of the fonts throughout the site, for example, text in the main content of pages/posts are a certain size, and link text is a different font/weight, though. And the footer text I would like to be smaller. However, the links in the footer are larger size, which I want all to be the same font size and weight, maybe 13 or 14pt. Also, the footer would be all on one line, not two as it has now with social media icons to the right of that.

2. As you can see, I have a background image on all my pages, but the text on the pages/posts are rather hard to read. Is there a way to change that, so the font is more eligible?

3. I would like the background colour where the logo and menu are to have an opacity, so the background website image is see-through and shows some of the background images. When I add this code to Global CSS

.nav {
background: #ccff66;
opacity: 0.4;
}

It works, but the logo and menu also have an opacity which I do not want. I want the logo and menu to stay all the same colours, including the drop-down menu, but not the background where these two elements are sitting on. Also, when you scroll down, you can see the background colour that the logo/menu is sitting on has changed back to the original colour. How to fix all this? What is the CSS code?

1. The main menu drop-down doesn’t work correctly as it is hidden behind some of the elements on pages and posts. I also can’t hover to the more than the first menu on the drop down, it just disappears.