customizing my posts

Hello guys,
I’m new to wordpress and I got a two questions about customizing my posts (incl. excerpts)

1. How I can i make the featured image go below the post title? right now im doing it manually by not using a featured image and putting the image I want at the beginning of the post with the visual editor.

2. How can I customize the excerpts? example: make shortcode and text format work in the excerpt. Usually I copy the content of my post manually from the text editor to the excerpt field, so the shortcode and text format works. Any way to make it work by default?

I just wish that I dont have to manually copy everything to the excerpt field, just use the “read more” tag where I would like…It’s really frustrating for me.

Thank you very much!

Hi @mili2110,

I hope you are well today and thank you for your question.

You can achieve this automatically by creating child theme of Sparkling theme and developing custom code in it.

The following filter and function will help you to achieve your second requirement.

https://codex.wordpress.org/Plugin_API/Filter_Reference/get_the_excerpt

Best Regards,
Movin

Hi Movin,
I forgot to mention that I already had the following code in my functions.php:

add_filter( ‘the_excerpt’, ‘shortcode_unautop’);
add_filter( ‘the_excerpt’, ‘do_shortcode’);

I changed it to:
add_filter( ‘get_the_excerpt’, ‘shortcode_unautop’);
add_filter( ‘get_the_excerpt’, ‘do_shortcode’);

It didn’t change anything.

The shortcode and text format still works, but only when I paste the post in the excerpt field. I want the auto-generated excerpt to have the right text format and shortcodes :confused:

No that code won’t work you have to use code like following but it will display whole post and not just excerpt.

function custom_excerpt( $excerpt ) {
    global $post;
  return do_shortcode($post->post_content);
}
add_filter( 'get_the_excerpt', 'custom_excerpt', 99 );

You can try achieving that by using the following plugins.