How to make all fonts "Montserrat"

Hi!
I’m a beginner in the WP world. Activello is the first theme I’m creating a child theme for (at least, trying to). I need to make the fonts that aren’t Montserrat disappear.
So, I looked through a bunch of topics about changing fonts and first, tried to use the “additional CSS” in the Customize section, but there were too many entries and it wasn’t working out. Then, I decided to create a child theme and erased “Lora” and “Maven Pro” from the CSS, making “Montserrat” the font under “body”, “h1, h2. etc”, “p” and “a”. It still didn’t work: Maven Pro was still appearing on the title and Lora, on the sidebar. I tried tweaking a little and reuploading the child theme, but now WP says it’s broken (much like my heart, after all this conundrum).
I don’t know if this is best practice, but since the only font I wanted was Montserrat, I downloaded it and put it in a folder called “fonts”. Since I couldn’t find on the WP Codex how to put them in the functions.php file of the child theme, I came up with a way.
The thing is, the child theme runs perfectly in my local server, but when I try to upload to WP, it doesn’t. First, it says “You need the parent theme”. So, it installs Activello. After that, it says “couldn’t find parent theme” - but Activello is the active theme on the site! I tried uploading again and got:

Downloading install package from https://downloads.wordpress.org/theme/activello.1.2.3.zip…

Unpacking the package…

Installing the theme…

Destination folder already exists. /home/katha623/public_html/rioempauta/wp-content/themes/activello/

Theme install failed.

This is a copy of the child theme’s folder on Google Drive, so you can see the functions.php, style.css and custom.css files for yourselves: https://drive.google.com/drive/folders/0B0yGdfgFUd6_cnVnQXJKb0dIY3c?usp=sharing
I finally gave up and decided to ask: what would be the best way to do what I need to do?

Thanks for your help,
Katharina

Hello Katharina,