Reduce height of featured image

Hey guys

I refer to this previously posted topic: https://colorlibsupport.com/t/feature-image-to-show-only-a-part-of-it/

I’m a newbie with wordpress. I really like sparkling and will use it for my homepage. Thanks you colorlib for this theme.

My Problem: I managed to customize the theme by adding a child theme. Like theinformant, I’d like to reduce the height of the featured images (on the homepage and in single-post) to 275px (fixed and forced). The image should be centered and the (eventual) overflow on left and right side should be cut off/not showing.

I tried the provided code from above in my child theme’s CSS and edited it, but it didn’t work. Do I have to add something to functions.php, too? I’d be very thankful for advice, Aigars. Thank you in advance.

I answered your questions here. However, I forget to mention that you will have to use regenerate thumbnail plugin once you change image size because images that are already on your website will not be resized automatically. For new images everything will work just like it should.

Thanks Aigars, the provided snipet for functions.php and the regenerate thumbnail plugin worked like charm. Time invested until i asked you: 2 hours. Time to do the job after your advice: 5 minutes. Thanks a lot!

Glad I could help!

Let me know if you have any other questions.

I’ve got a lot of questions, but that’s what makes it a challenge. And I think, I will be able to solve most of them on my own… some day :slight_smile:

But maybe you can give me some hints anyway about (at least for me) bigger problems:

1. On my website in single page view there’s no comma between the listed categories. I couldn’t find the problem in php-files. As far as I see, there should be a comma because of this part of sparkling’s content-single.php. Where’s the mistake?
<?php
					/* translators: used between list items, there is a space after the comma */