"Theme Options" for Sparkling missing after version 2.0 update.

I was less than 5 days away from completing my site which I’ve been working on for over 2 months. Today I saw an update notification for this theme. I decided to install the child theme first and copy the files to its root directory. I proceeded to update but once the update was complete, the “Theme Options” item was missing from the Appearance menu. I’ve tried uninstalling and installing a couple of times to no avail. All my tweaks and changes are gone for sure. Feels like I’ve wasted all that time for nothing.

@chrismwai

All options are now moved to WordPress customizer that you can find under Appearance >> Customize. All settings are still there but now you can tweak everything on a live preview.

Oh my. Didn’t see any update details and I had deleted both the main and child themes. In that case, is there any need for a child theme?

Child Theme is required only if you make changes inside code. For customization via Customizer you don’t need a child theme.

I think removing theme options altogether was a wrong move because now the short codes don’t work. I’ve added a a text widget to the third footer widget area. Before, I had used the short codes button to add short codes to the text and add text line by line. Now everything is treated as a single paragraph and you can imagine how an address added as a single paragraph will look. Ive tried the advanced text widget, the TineMCE to no avail. Let me post a screen shot.

Forgive the typos. I’m really frustrated.

There have never been any shortcodes for this theme. Like never ever. I think you might be confusing something.

Things you could do with the theme before you can still do now. All optikns ar there but are in Customizer.